“The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” Movie Review

After a week interning at Rajah and Tann, I was already dead exhausted, at least mentally. I desperately desired an opportunity to recharge, rejuvenate and reenergize and the weekend looked really promising for me to sleep through. Nonetheless, I still had to sacrifice some rest time last Saturday to get off my bed, gobble my breakfast, enter the shower and head out to get tickets for the blockbuster of the year, “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”. Here I have to admit that doing these things was right or I would have found myself seated in an uncomfortable neck-breaking position in the theatre.

“Catching Fire” continues the story that was started in “The Hunger Games”, the first of a trilogy. “The Hunger Games” tells the tale of how Katniss Everdeen (Jeniffer Lawrence) won the 74th Hunger Games that was created to force children, from each of the 12 districts,
into a game of survival, where they would be forced to compete with one another in a dangerous arena. She managed to outwit the system and not only did she become a victor, she also managed to ensure the survival of her friend (Peeta Mellark) from the same district.
“Catching Fire” started off with the victory tour of Katniss and Peeta to various districts. During their tour, Katniss realized that
her wits, which had helped her attain victory, were a source of hope for many people in various districts. As such, many started rebelling
against the Capitol. Then came the announcement for the 75th Hunger Games, also known as 3rd Quarter Quell, which required victors from
earlier Hunger Games to compete a second time. This action was made to destroy bonds the districts had with each other and to make them feel
weak. It was meant to be a reminder to the citizens of the districts that even the strongest among them cannot overcome the power of the Capitol. This was designed to force Katniss back into the arena in the hopes of stopping the rising rebellion.

Released on the 21st of November in local theatres, “Catching Fire” is the talk among many children, teenagers and adults. As compared to the
previous movie, “The Hunger Games”, I preferred “Catching Fire” so much more because there are no scenes that show a bloodbath between children. So, cheers to retaining the innocence of children. “Catching Fire” made a beautiful attempt to build suspense within the first hour. Otherwise the hour would have been considerably more boring. I also loved the way how Peeta soothe “Morphling”, who sacrificed herself for his survival,  into death – taking her body to the beach and referring to the colors of the skies. I was momentarily touched at this scene.

Did I mention that there was humor in the movie? Well, there is! I did not expect that and it certainly adds merit to the movie. With her superb acting skills, it is no wonder that Jennifer Lawrence was one of the Academy Award Nominees. However, I am disappointed by the fact that the games ended rather quickly. I guess the directors could have extended the battle. “Catching Fire” has certainly surpassed the previous movie and I am looking forward to the next sequel.

My ratings: 4.5/5.0

Note: I do not own this images.

Leave a Reply

