Gaieties

To my lovely classmates from 13s415, Debates Society, CCHMS clique, SISTERS,  童话 and many others who have made JC life tolerable. 

***

Prom night 2014, like many others, echoes the definition of subtle vanity, which happens to be an appropriate vindication. Amid the festive spirits, it was inevitable that the hall was a combination of jovialness and excitement, though there still exits an iota of awkwardness. The theme was “Hollywood”, and it definitely was a pleasant sight to see men marched into the hall with gallantness, some with their prom dates while others in the own fraternity, and the women, who were exceptionally ravishing, gracing in with elegance.

20141204_192941

The itinerary for the night.

IMG-20141205-WA0135

 With some of my table partners. (Credits: Candy)

20141204_193811

Before the food was ready, the emcee for the night, who in my honest opinion performed poorly (and I have every reason to mean this statement), started hyping the audience by splitting the hall into two different teams, and began playing games.

20141204_195446

The first, which was an excessively elaborated game of rock, scissors and paper, might have seen interesting initially, was in actual fact a humdrum.  IMG-20141205-WA0048

At the price of $80 dollars, we were served a buffet feast, containing noodles, sea bass, satays, rice, clam chowder, cakes, fruits and some others which I cannot recall. The food was not sumptuous but it was gratefully mediocre. (Credits: Umairah Bibi)

20141204_205552

A performance was prepared by our school mates.

20141204_214447

Undoubtedly, the most anticipated event of the night was the nomination of the prom king and queen. It was a popularity contest, pretty much like the Hunger Games, and the above candidates were elected by a special group of judges, who were our juniors. Three from each genders were elected, and each of them was given a single challenge: Catwalk.

20141204_214818 20141204_215110  20141204_215158  20141204_215340 20141204_215405  20141204_215502

It was really entertaining to see one outwitting the other with a couple of shenanigans, There was one guy who pretended to be that genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist, while another took out an unexpected pair of shades and paraded down the aisle, and not forgetting another making a swift disposal/strip of his blazer. The ladies were not too shabby either, it was as if they were all beauty pageants (though one of them was) and they owned the stage with greater ease than the men.

f20141204_220027   20141204_220207

The Angelina Jolie and Brad Pit elected.

20141204_220408

Lucky Draw segment, and I won nothing. Prizes includes tickets to the SEA Aquarium, Apple TV, International Buffet, Portable Charger, Polaroid and Samsung Galaxy Tab!

 20141204_22251020141204_223230

The reason why I mentioned earlier that the emcee’s role sucked was primarily due to inconsistency. I don’t care whether there was not enough time, or unforeseeable events occurring, or the world is going to die, but if he was to revoke an aforementioned statement, such as the selection of leaders who help volunteer participants to games, or perhaps the one about the teams competing to win a prize, and paid no attention to it, it is likely to assume that he was doing an impromptu and was not being meticulous about it.

And now, photographs…

IMG-20141205-WA0039It is at this point that I would like to express my sincere gratitude for this dude here for helping me pick my prom attire. It wasn’t easy for the guys in class, who went out together to gather our clothes, to express our opinions as there were times where they were rather conflicting. I am glad we managed. (Credits: Hui Ting)

20141204_230450

I hadn’t had the chance to take a picture with my neighbour, so when he asked for one, I was more than delighted to obliged!

IMG_20141205_115522

Like a palette of colors, our lives have been vibrant for the past two years. And on prom night, we decided to tone it down. To embrace humility, mundaneness, and the mere fact that we are together (even though our circle here wasn’t completed) for maybe the last time...

IMG-20141205-WA0097The guys coming together and taking a picture, before half of us will be shaving their heads away and entering NS earlier than the other half. It was great to have known you all.  (Credits: Jed Yong)

IMG-20141205-WA0138CCHMS 415 Clique (Credits: Candy)   IMG-20141205-WA0162

  To my fellow debaters, you have and will be forever close, and let us all stay in touch.(Credits: Saif Ali Khan)

IMG-20141205-WA0167

I am pretty much deeply indebted to this group. We have all been through thick and thin, and it is unlikely for us from different background and classes to have known each other, but I am glad that the Fates have intertwine our threads of life together. It was great to have been able to go out with you all to Party World and sing our hearts out. (Credits: Lye Yan Hern)

IMG-20141205-WA0168

We were together at CHIJMES in 2012 for our secondary school prom, and we were reunited once more for prom in 2014. We have, in every aspects, grown and it is assuring to know that because we were definitely immature and young then.

20141204_225734

Green, an indicator of youth, harmony, as well as the bringing of coming adventures, renewal and compassion, brings life to an already lively night. It is in essence a daring color… 

IMG-20141205-WA0172

Just when you think a union of solidarity at prom was over, which admittedly the struggle trying to stay sober almost terminated it, it persisted and our friendship blossomed even further.

***

“I think the best gift you can give anyone, is to hold them. To hold the cracks, the flaws, the crooked will of my crooked heart. To hold the coldness against the warmness, to hold without question or care. I was born with the ineffable need to be held, and to hold.”

— Gerald Teng 

***

I was mildly astounded to have the epiphany that despite all the disagreements I had about my choice in enroll in MJC, I will still miss my time there – the laughter, the complains, the grunts, the food, the smell, the spirit, the people, the last minute efforts and, most importantly, my 17 year old self – and prom feels like an official goodbye ceremony. And it is ironical because shouldn’t the term “gaiety” describe the essence of happiness and liveliness? But I have this innate sadness, forlornness, and it pains me just to let go.  And as I am writing this segment, I am tearing, not because my head is shaved and my enlistment is the day after, but due to the reluctance to leave stagnation and maybe partially due to the Jay Chou’s ” The Longest Movie”.

I promise, however, to smile. Because that is who I am, and how I will live my life.

IMG_20141208_024820

***

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Recently Acquired.”

Leave a Reply

