wait

Charlie, are you happy?” Jen asked.

I beg your pardon?

You know like the warm guzzling feeling inside you,” he added. “Like you know the world cares and that you belong in it.

Well yeah, I guess,” I squeezed Jen’s hand. He squeezed back.

When we first dated, I never quite understood him. It was after a couple of months later, I realised he was different. Jen has a way with words. He is succinct yet very much verbose. He does not sugarcoat yet he makes you feel comfortable hearing the negative things, the bad stuff.

Why ask?” I said.

Nothing. Just curious.

Lies. Jen was never curious. There is definitely something. But I know better than to question him. For me to know the truth, I just had to wait.

***

I am accepting suggestions on how I can improve and what directions I should take. I drafted this in December 2016. And I no longer have much juices left for this. But I guess, I will take things slow.

Leave a Reply

